Arkansas Crane operator training, licensing and safety information

Arkansas crane license

Licensing information

Currently, your state does not mandate a Crane Operator License. Please beware that soon you will need a Crane Operator Certificate to operate a crane if Arkansas decides not to commence licensing. A growing number of jobs are now requiring Crane Operator Certification.



If you have not obtained your OSHA Accredited Crane Operator Certificate, click the link now!!!


News Articles

OSHA Levies $175K in Fines in Fatal Arkansas Crane Accident

A federal safety agency has levied $175,000 in fines against a crane company, Entergy and other firms over a fatal crane accident at Arkansas Nuclear One in Russellville.

The Occupational Safety and Hazard Administration levied the fines over the death last March of 24-year-old Wade Walters, who was killed when a crane collapsed. Eight others were injured. The agency listed 26 alleged violations against Precision Surveillance Corp., Bigge Crane and Rigging Co., Siemens Power Generation Inc. and Entergy Operations Inc. The companies can contest the findings.

OSHA Area Director Carlos Reynolds says Walters’ death could have been prevented had the work been properly planned, with appropriate safeguards. Walters’ mother filed a wrongful death lawsuit. Her son was killed when a crane lifting a 525-ton piece of equipment collapsed.


OSHA's Little Rock Area Office concludes first Amputation Prevention Stand-Down
An increase in the number of amputations reported to OSHA's Little Rock Area Office has raised concerns about worker safety within Arkansas establishments. Since January, 46 Arkansas workers have lost fingers, toes, hands and legs due to amputations.
To educate employers and workers on preventing these injuries, the Little Rock office organized the Arkansas Amputation Prevention Stand-Down Sept. 14-29.
Read More:

A free event was held Sept. 15 with activities, demonstrations and training on topics such machine safeguarding and locking machines to prevent accidental start-up during servicing and maintenance. "We're hoping employers and workers have a better understanding of amputation hazards and how to correct them before they cause a permanent, debilitating injury," said Carlos Reynolds, OSHA's area director in Little Rock. Employers are required to report any amputations and inpatient hospitalizations to OSHA within 24 hours. To ask questions, call OSHA's toll-free hotline at 800-321-OSHA (6742).


*It is essential that you check with your local government and confirm that the information listed above is still good today. This information should only be used as a tool to help you figure out what type of license you need to operate certain types of equipment.



Email: info@cranes101.com  | Copyright © 2017 | Sturm Corp All Rights Reserved | Phone: 508-966-4100 | Terms/conditions